Only two miles from Sutter Creek on Highway 49, Amador City is the state’s smallest incorporated city by area. According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 0.3 square miles (0.78 km2), all land.
The city was founded in 1863 and was incorporated into a city around 1915. It was named after Amador County, California, which in turn was named after California soldier and wealthy rancher Jose Maria Amador, who, in 1848-1849, was prospecting an unknown creek in this historically rich gold bearing area called the Motherlode of California.
There were no known settlements until 1851. The California Gold Rush changed the landscape of California. Amador's most famous and productive mine, the Keystone, produced about $24 million in gold during 1853-1942. These prices would be higher using today's gold standard.
An abandoned brick building stands next to the Fleehart Store, a beautiful reflection of the stone masonry of the time. Also on Main Street is the old Imperial Hotel, another example of the beautiful brickwork of California's past.
A bridge replacement project completed in 2014 has beautified and revitalized the center of the city, providing patio dining at the Imperial Hotel, new public restrooms and improved access to the many quaint shops, wine tasting rooms and purveyors of unique, tasty comestibles.
Little Amador Railroad — Remnants remain of an incredibly-detailed G-Scale model train set in a garden that featured miniature mines and mills and turn-of-the-century full-size mining equipment.
Amador City Cemetery — located behind the Imperial Hotel. Visitors can take a self-guided tour of the 1.25-acre (5,100 m2) cemetery that dates back to the beginning of the town. Historic Highway 49